I’m wavering already, and I haven’t even started…

31 Jul

Getting ready for the big event – one month tomorrow (maybe – see below). I have been feeling pretty good about it, more and more people are talking to me about it – offering support, resources etc. Also, I might not be going it alone – my mom and my friend Katherine (both dealing with health issues of their own) are thinking about joining me in this endeavour. That’ll make it a little more fun – especially if they want to comment here for the enjoyment of the group.

Last week I had a great chat with a repeat client of mine who did the same thing about a year and a half ago. She couldn’t say enough about how great she felt and what a difference it made to her health etc. She was also dealing with some auto-immune challenges, some requiring the use of steroids. Now she isn’t on any medications at all. Very encouraging!

But when I read ingredient labels, I get a little discouraged. I want to avoid all gluten. But do you know what has gluten in it….? EVERYTHING! Not really, but sometimes it sure does feel that way (poor, poor celiacs). I checked with Laura (the ND) and she said I don’t need to be wary of the gluten in my soya sauce for example, just the big, obvious stuff….so if that’s ok, then what about that little bit of egg in the bread I love so much – it’s only one egg per loaf. Or other hidden ingredients like butter and milk and cheese….

It’s a buttery slippery slope my friends….even my darling husband has been saying things like “you don’t need to be so strict, it’s not like it’s a real allergy or something”. If my theory is correct however, then actually honey, yes it is a real allergy – one that is damaging my body little by little. I really do need to be that strict.

I’ve also been thinking about tinkering with the start date just a little bit. I’m ashamed to admit I’m considering jeopardizing my health for a few days longer just so I can enjoy (temporarily at least) a mouthwatering pulled pork sandwich and some ribs at this year’s Ribfest. I went last year for the first time and it was just so tasty! I had thought about it when planning my start date and was hoping that it started a bit earlier. So, maybe I’ll just start on September 4th – and go out with a bang! And really, let’s be honest, it will take my intestines three months to get over that one day at Ribfest anyway!

Can you see me hanging my head in shame? Cause I am.

4 Responses to “I’m wavering already, and I haven’t even started…”

  1. Justine July 31, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Rhea, I totally vote for starting after Ribfest.

    Wooo! You can do it!

    PS look up Kindfoods—-a new Vegan/GF food place in downtown Burlington. It’s pretty funky, and if you drove the scenic way home from the clinic, it would be right on your way home! I suppose we can’t go out for crepes at Heart of the Hammer, (or does Rebecca make GF crepes!?) but we could go out for Kindfood!

    • rheadeja July 31, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

      Justine – join me at Ribfest!!

      Oh, and as for kindfood – I’m almost on a first name basis there!! My new favourite store and a place that will help me in my darkest hours….

      • Justine August 2, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

        Totally joining you at Ribfest. Although we have our own on our street. (competition and all!) and it’s cheeeeaper…:)

  2. Matthew July 31, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    No honey for vegans!

    I went vegan for a while … gets easier as you go along … except eating out. That part sucked wicked hard.

    Good luck though!

    Mmmm … vegan banana pancakes ftw!

Leave a Reply

