“We’re only vegan at dinner”

9 Sep

Day 6 of being back to strict ways of eating and I’m already feeling better! My back doesn’t hurt when I wake up which is always a sure sign I’m eating the right stuff for my body. If I eat bad stuff, my intestines get all out of whack, which then pulls my insides out of alignment, which pulls on my muscles, which gives me a sore back. So I often use back pain as my gauge….

This really was great timing because recently, my family has expanded. We are now a family of 7. Four adults and three kids (ages 6, 4, and 1). You see a friend has just moved to a house around the corner from me. As part of the move, they gutted the kitchen with the hope it would be ready in time. Except it wasn’t. In fact, the “kitchen” is still basically a big, gaping hole – right down to the studs. So they come here to cook. Her boys have lots of dietary issues, so she’s used to cooking how I need to eat. The deal that we made was that she could have total and complete access to my house/kitchen/food, she just had to make extra for us! It’s working really well so far. It’s kind of like Sister Wives, except we each have our own husband!

Her family does eat meat though and the boys were asking about this because she’s not really cooking it while they’re eating here. She was explaining what ‘vegan’ meant and they weren’t too thrilled, so she told them that they’re “only vegan at dinner”.

So far so good though, and as I said – it’s great timing to really get me back on track. Last night we had these amazing “spicoli burgers” made with brown rice, hemp seeds, onion, red pepper and spices – all pureed and made into a patty. DELICIOUS! Tonight’s dinner was Thai Chick-Un Pizza – GF crusts topped with sauce made from ketchup, peanut butter, ginger, garlic, and coconut milk, topped with red pepper, chick peas, pineapple, onion, cilantro and mung beans. Super duper tasty – you wouldn’t think that combination of ingredients in the sauce would be appetizing, but it really was fantastic.

Having children around at mealtimes is also helpful in another way, it’s teaching me to get over my thing with having food particles *everywhere*. Well, it could be teaching me that….really what it’s teaching me is how to wipe faster and ignore my uncontrollable twitching!

Leave a Reply

