Camping – Part 2, plus menu.

6 Oct

Brrr! Camping last weekend was a bit chilly! But we did have a really nice time, got to see some lovely fall colours and spend some quality time together. Finding tasty, easy to prepare camping meals was not the easiest task – I didn’t want anything too complicated because I didn’t want to spend hours cooking. Also, I wanted some easy, go-to, grab and go snacks since I had been hoping we were going to do some hiking and canoeing. As it turns out, the snacks were fun while we were playing cards in the tent!

We got up there LATE Wednesday night – around 11. Obviously, it was pitch black and we were setting up a tent we had never used before. FUN! And it was raining lots. MORE FUN! But, we got the tent et al. set up pretty quick and snuggled in all cozy, me, my dog and my man.

The weather the whole time we were up there was inconsistent – cold, or rainy, then cold AND rainy. Thursday morning was cool and crisp, but the sun started to come out a bit in the afternoon – so we went for a walk. At our furthest point from our site, the thunder/lightening started and the skies opened up. We were drenched by the time we got back to the site. The next day, we wanted to try canoeing. The day was crisp and beautiful until 3, when the rental place opened, and as we headed over to rent the canoe it started to pour rain again. Oh good! đŸ™‚

The only time our spirits were dampened (haha) came when we tried to start a fire – we had really crummy wood that just wouldn’t catch. Ian and I are both experienced fire builders and it took us almost 2 HOURS to get a good fire going! Sheesh. So annoying!! Our last night and morning were COLD – I think it was 3 degrees C that last night! And windy – and rainy! It was miserable. The next morning we just wanted to get the heck out of there!! We went into ‘town’ for breakfast (ie, the mechanic shop/1980’s greasy spoon closest to the park), and then got back, packed up and hit the road.

As far as the menu was concerned, I did some pre-prep – and made a lot of things ahead of time. That way I could just heat things up, but we were eating good, un-processed food.

Wed Night:

Plan was dinner on the road (I was hoping Kindfood “to go”) but the day got away on us and it ended up being a stop along the 401 that was neither vegan, nor gluten free and made us both feel ick.

Thursday:

  • Breakfast: GF/V pancakes from a mix – just ok
  • Lunch: OSG Carrot Apple Ginger Soup & Grilled Cheese with Aidan’s bread and Daiya (I made the soup ahead of time and brought it with us).
  • Dinner: OSG Maple Baked Beans (These are the BEST things I’ve ever eaten!! And they were so easy to make – I will certainly be putting these into heavy menu rotation.)

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Breakfast Burrito – GFV tortilla filled with refried beans, guacamole, salsa, daiya and fried potatoes
  • Lunch: OSG Hummus, Veggies, Crackers
  • Dinner: Amy’s Lentil Soup

 Saturday:

  • Breakfast: Intended to be Overnight Oats, but it was so cold and miserable out, the thought of eating cold oats (or even heating them up) was sooo off-putting, I made Ian take me into town and ate things some breakfast type things which I lived to regret. Informed choice right? I knew the risks of my decision and I did it anyway.
  • Lunch was going to be a black bean salad, but we were still full from breakfast and just wanted to pack up and get out of there! So we ate tortilla chips on the road. And some dried apples.

Snacks:

  • Fruit roll-ups
  • Dehydrated cinnamon apples
  • OSG Go Go Glow Mix (this stuff is awesome!)
  • Kale chips
  • Popcorn (yes, I did bring my whirly pop!)

While we were there, we found some amazing walk-in campsites, right on the lake and away from the hustle and bustle. We may just try to book one of those for a weekend next fall!

Leave a Reply

