Clear Passage – Day 1

16 Nov

I’m not holding any details back in these entries, so consider yourself warned! 🙂

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Background is here.

My first appointment was scheduled for Monday, 9am. We arrived a few minutes early to fill out some last minute paperwork and make the final payment (thanks mom!). The place was clean and cozy and less flashy than I had imagined (I figured private health clinic in the US would be big on appearances). It is in an office/clinic complex – small waiting room when you first walk in with lots of magazines and books on health, well-being and fertility stuff. Once we were all settled, the administrator took me on a little tour of the place – washrooms, treatment rooms, kitchen that can be used by us as well. Mom came with me and sat in on the first two sessions.

I was given a robe and fuzzy blanket that are mine for the week. I was also given a paper gown that I was told I would wear during treatments. She said they would be replaced as I went because they might get a little torn up – I didn’t think she meant they would actually be ripped apart! But that’s what they do, as you lay there, they rip open the parts they need to access whatever part of your body they are working on. Keeps you covered otherwise though…..some of the pictures I saw before hand had people with strategically placed towels but I guess the laundry got to be a pain in the butt? Who knows…..

Anyway, my first one hour session was with Evette – a really lovely woman from Louisiana. For this first hour, she did an overall assessment of me. Had me standing in a bra and underwear poking, prodding and looking at my posture, feeling where there might be restrictions, checking my range of motion etc. The consensus is that my right side is wound up tight tight tight. From head to toe.

After a 10 minute break, I met Kim – also lovely, but at this point I liked Evette the best. Kim did the first ‘hands-on’ treatment – basically, she massaged my abdomen for an hour, all the while feeling for the mobility (or not) of various organs. She also felt that I had a lot of restrictions on the right side – things just aren’t moving and sliding around as much as they should be. Her session was ok in terms of intensity. Felt like a lot of treatments I have had from my osteopath before. Some stuff she did elicited some strange pulling and tugging sensations in other parts of my abdomen, but that would only make sense if you think that things are all stuck together in there.

After that I had a two hour break where mom and I did some grocery shopping for the week. We have a hotel with a kitchen, so we can cook our own food rather than eating out so much.

Then back we went for the afternoon sessions. This time I met Belinda (one of the two co-founders). She was a little less warm and fuzzy, a little more clinical. She did some work on my sacrum and my hips. Like my osteopath, it feels like there’s not a whole lot happening and then she straightens out my leg real fast (or something) and I feel all kids of things shifting in my pelvic bones and tightness I didn’t know I had disappears! Magic. She worked on my abdomen a bit, giving a decent amount of attention to the area around my appendix scar.

Another 10 minute break and then back with Evette for the final session of the day – she wanted to finish the assessment from the morning, this time paying particular attention to my cervix. It wasn’t so bad (though it was strange to be on the receiving end for a change). She was checking the position and mobility of my cervix and tailbone and started doing a bit of treatment on it (ie pushing it around). I was prepared for much worse, and I’m happy to report it wasn’t so bad. During this session, we talked a lot about my job and her births and the culture of birth in the US. How odd to be talking midwifery while someone is mucking around with my cervix – definitely a first!

They said I might be a bit achy after the treatment and they recommend walking after the morning and afternoon sessions and also epsom salt baths etc. All in all I felt pretty good. Took my arnica, walked and swam in the pool and had a warm bath. At the end of the day I was still feeling a little apprehensive about how effective this will all be, but hopeful.

Oh, and as an adjunct to all of this, before I left I picked up the new protocol my naturopath wants to try – which basically involves me taking 30 pills a day (to help decrease inflammation and scar tissue and help my liver to detox). We thought the treatments and her protocol would be enhanced by happening together. And it does feel kind of therapeutic to focus on myself so much for this week – my diet is great, I’m drinking lots of water and getting some decent rest. All good things!

Leave a Reply

